Penn Relays athletes get $4m FLOW boost

Friday, April 20, 2018

Print this page Email A Friend!

Thirty Jamaican high schools and tertiary institutions will benefit from a contribution of $4.2 million from the FLOW Foundation to fund their trip to the upcoming Penn Relays Carnival 2018.

This marks the 26th consecutive year that the telecommunications firm has provided funding for what promises to be a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for many of the promising Jamaican athletes who will represent both their schools and Jamaica.

Speaking at a brief presentation ceremony held at FLOW's Corporate Office yester, Errol Miller, executive chairman of the FLOW Foundation shared that outside of athletics, the company was pleased to be able to contribute to the students' academic exploits and the future opportunities often gained by Jamaican athletes while participating in the prestigious Games.

“It is indeed a fantastic opportunity for the students both in terms of their athletic development as well as the amazing doors that open in terms of scholarships and the opportunities to be recruited by overseas colleges,” Miller shared.

Michael Dyke, head coach at Edwin Allen High School, said: “We are extremely grateful to FLOW each year for the ongoing assistance that they continue to provide for us. Before, it used to be extremely difficult to secure funding to allow the students to participate. Each year, the contribution continues to grow allowing us to add more students to the team each year.”

The 124th Penn Relays will be held from April 26-28, 2018 at the University of Pennsylvania.

This year, the secondary schools benefiting from this FLOW initiative include: Ardenne High School, Bellefield High School, Bridgeport High School, Calabar High School, Edwin Allen High School, Excelsior High School, Greater Portmore High School, Green Island High School, St. Catherine High School, Kingston College, St. Jago High School, Jamaica College, Holmwood Technical High School, Spaulding's High School, Manchester High School, Cornwall College, Munro College, Immaculate Conception High School, Herbert Morrison Technical High School, Papine High School, Greater Portmore High School, Hydel High School, Ruseas High School, Tacious Golding High School, Petersfield High School and St Elizabeth Technical High School (STETHS).

The tertiary institutions receiving grants are The Mico University College, The University of Technology (UTECH), GC Foster College and the University of the West Indies (UWI).




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon