Click here to print page

Santos, Constant Spring to contest Masters League mid-season final

Sunday, October 01, 2017

Zone winners Santos and Constant Spring will meet today at 4:00 pm in the mid-season final of the Masters League Competition at Barbican Football Field.

Defending champions Constant Spring ended the preliminary round on 31 points to top Zone One ahead of Harbour View on 24 points, Nautica on 21 points, and Nannyville Gardens on 20 points.

They are undefeated and have only drawn with Hagley Park in the preliminary round. The Carl Sewell-coached Constant Spring will meet Santos for the first time since the 2016 final last November, when they clipped them 2-1.

Sewell will look to former national players Durrant “Tatty” Brown, Oniel “Chippy” McDonald, Fabian Watkins, Wayne Palmer, prolific striker Orville Mullings, Orlando Walker, Bunny Scott and Raymond Smith for victory.

Meanwhile, Santos, who won this title last season after defeating August Town 3-1, are enjoying a wonderful 2017 season and are undefeated so far after 10 matches. They won their zone with 30 points, with August Town and Park Rovers on 24 and 23 points, respectively, with both to meet today at UWI Bowl, Mona, at 4:00 pm to reconcile second and third places in the zone. Los Perfectos out of Mandeville finished in fourth place on 19 points to round out the eight quarter-finalists.

Coach Lyndon Dawes will be looking to his leading goalscorers Fabian Nethersole, Kevin Lamey, Lockley Thompson, Kwame Richarson, John Flemming, Victor Riley, Bernard Blackwood, and goalkeeper Russell Hosang to lead his team to victory.