Selectors hand Miller, Emrit new lease

Wednesday, December 06, 2017

Print this page Email A Friend!

ST JOHN'S, Antigua (CMC) – Selectors have called up the veteran pair of Nikita Miller and Rayad Emrit for the limited-overs tour of New Zealand later this month, in a surprise move that has handed both players new leases on their international careers.

The 35-year-old Miller was yesterday named in a 15-man squad for three-match One-Day International series, while Emrit, 36, was included in a 14-man unit for the three-match Twenty20 series.

Left-arm spinner Miller has taken an astonishing 23 wickets for Jamaica Scorpions in only his two games of the ongoing regional first- class season, after missing the first three fixtures while recuperating from surgery.

He topped the bowling charts last season with 58 scalps, but picked up just nine at just over 3 1/2 runs an over in the Regional Super50 earlier this year.

Jamaican Miller played the last of his 46 ODIs during the 2015 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, but chief selector Courtney Browne said his experience would prove valuable, especially as West Indies geared up for the all-important 2019 World Cup qualifiers in Zimbabwe next year.

“Miller has played ODI cricket previously. Along with his vast experience in our domestic competitions, we felt that he is the right fit to form part of our ODI bowling unit at this time,” Browne said.

“With the World Cup qualifiers fast approaching, we felt that this is not the right time to introduce an inexperienced slow bowler.”

Emrit, meanwhile, has not tasted international cricket since he played a pair of ODIs 10 years ago in India, but has reinvented himself as dependable lower-order batsman and steady seamer in the T20 version of the game.

“The selection of Emrit is to fill one of the all-rounder roles. He has always been on the fringes of selection and now gets his opportunity,” Browne explained.

West Indies face New Zealand in three ODIs and three T20Is from December 20 to January 3.

SQUADS: ODI – Jason Holder (captain), Jason Mohammed (vice-captain), Sunil Ambris, Ronsford Beaton, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Kyle Hope, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Nikita Miller, Ashley Nurse, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Kesrick Williams.

T20I – Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Samuel Badree, Ronsford Beaton, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Mohammed, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton, Kesrick Williams.




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon