Warner, Finch tons help Australia pummel India by 10 wickets


Warner, Finch tons help Australia pummel India by 10 wickets

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Print this page Email A Friend!

MUMBAI, India (AFP) — Openers David Warner and Aaron Finch struck dominant centuries in a record partnership to power Australia to a crushing 10-wicket win over India in the first One-Day International (ODI), yesterday.

Warner blasted 128 while Captain Finch made 110, as Australia chased down their target of 256 in just 37.4 overs in Mumbai to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match series.

Paceman Mitchell Starc also played a key part with three wickets that helped bowl out India for 255 in 49.1 overs, after the tourists elected to field first in their first 50-over outing since last year's World Cup.

Warner and Finch then put together an unbroken stand of 258, the highest partnership for any wicket in ODIs against India.

“I think I've always had the hunger and desire for runs,” Warner said after getting the man of the match award.

“It's just a great effort from our fast bowlers to knock India over for 255...We got off to a flier [while chasing], and we were very clinical in the end.”

Warner reached his 18th ODI hundred in 88 balls with a boundary off Indian quick Jasprit Bumrah, jumping with joy and kissing his helmet to celebrate the knock.

Finch completed his century in 108 balls but it was Warner who remained in total control as he finished it off with two of 17 boundaries. He also hit three sixes.

KL Rahul, who made 47 for India, kept wicket after regular gloveman Rishabh Pant suffered a concussion following a blow on the helmet while batting.

It was the second-wicket 121-run stand between Rahul and Dhawan that put India on course for a big score, but they slipped from 134-1 to 164-5 in the space of 35 deliveries.

The left-handed Dhawan smashed nine fours and one six in his 91-ball knock and was well supported by Rahul, who eventually fell to Ashton Agar's left-arm spin.

Pat Cummins was brought back from the other end and sent Dhawan back to the pavilion after he flicked to cover where Agar took the catch.

Skipper Virat Kohli did not last long, hitting Adam Zampa for a six before he was caught and bowled with the next ball for 16.

Pant and Ravindra Jadeja, who hit 25, made 49 runs with an attacking partnership, but Kane Richardson claimed Jadeja and Cummins got Pant for 28.

A short ball from Cummins hurried onto Pant who went for a pull and got a top edge onto the helmet, the ball lobbing towards point.

Number 10 batsman Kuldeep Yadav made a useful 17 to take India's score past 250 before being run out by a direct throw from Steve Smith.

“It's a very strong Australian team, and if you don't play well enough, they will hurt you,” said Kohli.

“In phases, we were too respectful against their bowlers and didn't take the game by the scruff of the neck. It's another challenge to bounce back from here.”

The second ODI is on Friday in Rajkot.

R Sharma c Warner b Starc 10
S Dhawan c Agar b Cummins 74
KL Rahul c Smith b Agar 47
V Kohli c & b Zampa 16
S Iyer c Carey b Starc 4
R Pant c Turner b Cummins 28
R Jadeja c Carey b Richardson 25
S Thakur b Starc 13
M Shami c Carey b Richardson 10
K Yadav run out (Smith) 17
J Bumrah not out 0
Extras (lb3, w8) 11
Total (all out, 49.1 overs) 255
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Sharma),
2-134 (Rahul), 3-140 (Dhawan),
4-156 (Kohli), 5-164 (Iyer),
6-213 (Jadeja), 7-217 (Pant), 8-229
(Thakur), 9-255 (Yadav),
10-255 (Shami)
Bowling: Starc 10-0-56-3 (2w),
Cummins 10-1-44-2 (2w),
Richardson 9.1-0-43-2 (2w), Zampa
10-0-53-1 (1w),
Agar 10-1-56-1 (1w)
Australia (target 256)
D Warner not out 128
A Finch not out 110
Extras (b4, lb7, w9) 20
Total (for 0 wkts, 37.4 overs) 258
Did not bat: S Smith, M
Labuschagne, A Turner, A Carey,
A Agar, P Cummins, M Starc, K
Richardson, A Zampa
Bowling: Shami 7.4-0-58-0 (1w),
Bumrah 7-0-50-0 (1w),
Thakur 5-0-43-0 (4w),
10-0-55-0 (2w),
Jadeja 8-0-41-0 (1w)
Toss: Australia
Result: Australia won by 10 wickets.
Series: Australia lead the threematch
series 1-0.
Umpires: Michael Gough (ENG),
Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND)
TV Umpire: Richard Kettleborough
Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at http://bit.ly/epaper-login




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon