Regional accounting institute appoints new president and board of directors
David Simpson

BARBADIAN accounting professional and entrepreneur David Simpson has been appointed as president of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of the Caribbean (ICAC) for the association's 2021 to 2023 term.

Simpson replaces Khalil Alli from Guyana who served for the period 2019 to 2021. The handover occurred on day one of the institute's 38th annual conference, which was held virtually and successfully for the first time, on June 24th and 25th.

In thanking Alli and the 2019 to 2021 executive for the leadership displayed and for generously giving during a trying period globally, Simpson elaborated on the theme of the conference 'Envisioning our Future; Managing our Reality.'

“The ICAC is charged with supporting a profession called upon to support the evolution within which we find ourselves. It is an evolution that touches on the very topics addressed during our conference. We are operating within re-engineered workplaces, we are being asked to be agile and innovative, there is technology to be embraced, understood and integrated; we are being called upon to consider the impact of climate change, be conscious of the environmental sustainable goals, remain ethical and be aware of the impacts of global decisions that affect small island developing states,” Simpson observed. The new president, however, underscored that supporting the profession is the modus operandi of the ICAC — and that he and the newly appointed executive would endeavour to uphold the tenets of the ICAC, no matter the circumstances.

The ICAC consists of some 4000 professionals across the Caribbean and is “committed to upholding and promoting the fundamental values of the accountancy profession — truth and fairness, integrity, justice and prosperity, which are embodied in its motto, Veritas et Virtus (Truth and Virtue)”.

For 2021 to 2023, the ICAC will also be served by Andrea St Rose (Eastern Caribbean) — vice-president; Gowon Bowe (The Bahamas) — treasurer; Sixto Coy (Jamaica) — secretary; and directors Claude Burrell (Belize), Pramila Persaud (Guyana), Michael Lutchman (Suriname), and Denise Chinpire-O'Reilly (Trinidad and Tobago). The ICAC's 2021 to 2023 alternate directors include Diveane Bowe — The Bahamas; Darshani Workman — Barbados; Brett Feinstein — Belize; Erwin Southwell — Eastern Caribbean; Vishwamint Ramnarine — Guyana; Allison Peart — Jamaica; Hans Girjasing — Suriname and Dwayne Rodrigues-Seijas — Trinidad and Tobago.

The affiliate members of the ICAC are Shelly-Ann Mohammed — ACCA; Jim Knafo — AICPA; Tommaso Scali — CIPFA and Nancy Foran — CPA Canada.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at


  1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper; email addresses will not be published.
  2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.
  3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.
  4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.
  5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:
  6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:
  7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy