Holness names 14-member Constitutional Reform Committee
Prime Minister Andrew Holness (centre) poses for a picture with the members of the Constitutional Reform Committee (CRC). The members are: Marlene Malahoo Forte (third left), Ambassador Rocky Meade (third right), Dr Derrick McKoy (second right); (back row, from left) Dr Nadeen Spence, Senator Tom Tavares-Finson, Hugh Small, Dr. David Henry, Anthony Hylton, Professor Richard Albert; (front row, from left) Sujae Boswell, Senator Donna Scott-Mottley and Laleta Davis Mattis. Not pictured are: Dr Lloyd Barnett and Senator Ransford Braham.

Prime Minister Andrew Holness on Wednesday named the 14 members of the Constitutional Reform Committee that will oversee the reform of Jamaica’s Independence Constitution.

He made the announcement at a press conference at the Office of the Prime Minister, noting that the Committee boasts representation from a diverse cross-section of the society, which includes the Government, Parliamentary Opposition, the attorney general, constitutional law and governance experts, representatives from academia and civil society, along with a youth advisor.

The Committee is chaired by the Minister of Legal and Constitutional Affairs, Marlene Malahoo Forte.

The other members are:

• Ambassador Rocky Meade - Co-Chair/Office of the Prime Minister;

• Dr Derrick McKoy - Attorney General of Jamaica;

• Senator Tom Tavares-Finson - President of the Senate and Commissioner of the Electoral Commission of Jamaica;

• Senator Ransford Braham - Government Senator;

• Senator Donna Scott-Mottley- Opposition Senator;

• Anthony Hylton – Opposition Member of Parliament;

• Professor Richard Albert- International Constitutional Law Expert;

• Dr Lloyd Barnett - National Constitutional Law Expert;

• Hugh Small - Consultant Counsel and Nominee of the Leader of the Parliamentary Opposition;

• Dr David Henry- Wider Society - Faith-based;

• Dr Nadeen Spence- Civil Society - Social and Political Commentator;

• Laleta Davis Mattis- National Reparations Committee; and

• Sujae Boswell - Youth Advisor

Holness said while the work of the Committee is critical to achieving the reform goals on which there is consensus,“the narrative, education and arguments should be presented to the public, so that they are indeed, not just by-standers but are included in the process.”

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at https://bit.ly/epaper-login


  1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper; email addresses will not be published.
  2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.
  3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.
  4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.
  5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.
  6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.
  7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

Which long-term investment option is more attractive to you at the moment?