Regional police welfare body rejects James’ assertion of being first Jamaican to lead group
Chairman of the Jamaica Police Federation, Corporal Rohan James

The Caribbean Federation of Police Welfare Associations (CFPWA) is dismissing claims that chairman of the Jamaica Police Federation, Corporal Rohan James, became the first Jamaican to head the regional police welfare body.

The CFPWA, in a statement on Wednesday, made the assertions, adding that James would have been selected for the position but Jamaica did not pay its dues and was marked as “unfinancial.”

“The CFPWA has taken note of the misleading statement that has been put out there by chairman James of the Jamaica Police Federation at its 80th Annual Joint Conferences. We want to make it clear that chairman James would have been the first Jamaican to hold that position if he had been eligible to be nominated,” the CFPWA said.

“Chairman James was initially elected for the position of president. However, on review, it was discovered that the Jamaica Police Federation was not financial, hence, he should not have been on the ballot. Chairman James was also informed of the invalidity of his candidature and was advised,” the CFPWA continued.

The regional association further stated that the Jamaica Police Federation was “unfinancial” at the time of the closure of the nominations.

“This is against the background that all member states owing dues were written off and given a clean slate, and members agreed to pay dues from 2021 onward,” the statement continued.

“Member states present in the Cayman Islands last November were reminded that it must be financial in accordance with the Constitution of the CFPWA to field candidates for any position that will become vacant in May at the 11th Annual General Meeting. The most recent reminder was sent on May 4, 2023, reminding members of the sums outstanding,” it added.

The CFPWA noted that by the end of business day, the sums outstanding by the chairman James-led Federation are still not being reflected in the account of the CFPWA, which is held at First Citizens Bank in Trinidad and Tobago.

On Friday, May 26, 2023, the nine-member states elected new executive members to the executive committee to preside over the affairs of the CFPWA in accordance with our Constitution.

These officers, who were elected to serve for a term of two years effective June 1, 2023, to May 31 2025, are president - Sean McCall – Royal British Virgin Islands Police Force, vice president – Ricardo Walkes – Royal Bahamas Police Force, first vice president – Nathalie John – Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, treasurer - Joshua Pierre - Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, assistant treasurer – Somorow Quashie – Royal St Vincent and the Grenadines Police Force, public relations officer – Tricia Durant-Charles – Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, and protocol officer – Ovanda Kemp – Royal Bahamas Police Force

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at


  1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper; email addresses will not be published.
  2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.
  3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.
  4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.
  5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:
  6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:
  7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

Which long-term investment option is more attractive to you at the moment?