Lue pleased with President's Trophy Tourney
Mark Phillips (right), winner of the Men's Open category, receives his trophy from Suzette Wythe (centre) from Optical Solutions International Limited during the presentation ceremony of the JTTA President's Trophy Table Tennis Tournament at the GC Foster College on Saturday, November 26, 2022. At left is JTTA president Andrew Lue.

Jamaica Table Tennis Association (JTTA) President Andrew Lue says the just-concluded inaugural staging of the JTTA President's Trophy Table Tennis Tournament was a huge success in the development of both the sport and its players.

The one-day tournament, which saw 184 entries, was held at the GC Foster College of Physical Education and Sport on Saturday.

"The JTTA's objectives in hosting the inaugural President's Trophy Tournament were to provide an opportunity for players to boost their ranking points and to showcase their skills in a highly competitive arena," Lue told the Jamaica Observer. "The tournament was a success, and the support was tremendous. We are already planning for the next event early next year.

Mark Phillips and Tsenaye Lewis capitalised on the absence of national champions Kane Watson and Solesha Young by winning their first open singles titles this year. Lewis also won the U19 Girls' Championship. Ajani Spencer was the other player to win two events, winning the U11 and U13 Boys titles.

Tsenaye Lewis defeated Gianna Lewis 4-0 to take the Women's Open title, while in the Men's Open category; Phillips defeated Rudolph Sinclair 4-1 to take the crown.

Tsenaye had previously defeated Gianna 3-0 in the Under-19 girls' category to claim a double title. Joel Bulter won the boys' equivalent after Gari Whythe retired hurt.

Spencer's double success came in the Under-11 boys' category after defeating Anthony Bird 3-0 in the final and in the Under-13 boys' category after beating Nathan Douglas 3-0.

The Under-11 girls' category was won by Kira Scott, who beat Christina Royes 3-0, and Keeara Whyte defeated Kira Scott 3-0 to win the Under-13 girls' title.

In the Under-15 girls' category, Kayan Denton defeated Karicia Peterkin 3-0 to take the crown, while Joel Lamn won the boys' equivalent after Gari Whythe retired hurt.

Akindele Adeniyi whipped Joel Bulter 4-0 to take the title in the B Open category.

Ruddy Allen

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at


  1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper; email addresses will not be published.
  2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.
  3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.
  4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.
  5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:
  6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:
  7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy