Dinthill, Irwin High stay perfect in d'Cup
Abraham Quest of Irwin High (right) skips away from Anchovy High players Jaheem Brooks (left) and Antwone Marshall the daCosta Cup Zone A game at Irwin on Friday. Irwin High won 5-0. (Photo: Paul Reid)

FORMER champions Dinthill Technical and Irwin High maintained their perfect win records in the Inter-secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA) daCosta Cup football competition following wins over McGrath High and Anchovy High, respectively, on Friday.

The 2-1 result saw Dinthill Technical claimiing their fifth win in a row, matching Paul Bogle High's record, while Irwin High improved on their best-ever start to the competition with a 5-0 thrashing of winless Anchovy.

Giovanni Afflick scored a second-half double to lead Dinthill Technical to their fifth victory as the two-time former champions maintained their lead in Zone K.

Charlemont High took over sole possession of second place after blanking Guy's Hill High 3-0, while Ewarton High and Enid Bennett played out a 2-2 result.

Irwin High took the lead in Zone A for the first time after the win over hapless Anchovy High, as Roxroy Ramsey led the way with a double. Leo Campbell, Fabian Grey and Abraham Quest were the other scorers.

Irwin High are on nine points from three wins — the first time the school has ever won their first three games to start a season since their first season in 2008.

York Castle assumed the lead in Zone I after beating former leaders Oracabessa High 4-1, while Brown's Town edged Marcus Garvey Technical 1-0.

After getting their maiden win on Tuesday, Mt St Joseph were brought back to earth when they were blanked 0-3 by Bellefield High in Zone F.

Meanwhile, organisers ISSA have postponed all schoolboy football games scheduled for Saturday after the island was put under a tropical storm watch on Friday.

Weather permitting, the competition is to resume on Tuesday.


Zone A

Maldon High vs Green Pond (postponed)

Irwin 5, Anchovy 0

Zone F

Mt St Joseph 0, Bellefield 3

Zone I

York Castle 4, Oracabessa 1

Marcus Garvey 0, Brown's Town 1

Zone K

Charlemont 3, Guy's Hill 0

Ewarton 2, Enid Bennett 2

McGrath 1, Dinthill 2

Zone M

Tacius Golding 0, Denbigh 0

PAUL A REID Observer writer reidp@jamaicaobserver.com

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at https://bit.ly/epaper-login


  1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper; email addresses will not be published.
  2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.
  3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.
  4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.
  5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.
  6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.
  7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy