Test skipper Brathwaite among West Indians in ICC teams of the year
In this file photo, West Indies batsman Kraigg Brathwaite plays a lofted shot against Australia on the third day of the first cricket Test match in Hobart on December 12, 2015. (Photo: AFP)

LONDON, United Kingdom (CMC) — West Indies Test Captain Kraigg Brathwaite has been named in the International Cricket Council's men's Test Team of the Year, following a successful year with the bat.

The 30-year-old averaged 62 in seven Tests during the last calendar year, scoring two hundreds — a marathon 160 against England in Bridgetown and a fine 110 against Australia in Perth in December.

Brathwaite's West Indies teammates, batsman Shai Hope and fast bowler Alzarri Joseph, were also honoured by the ICC, named in the men's One-Day International Team of the Year.

"I'm very privileged and honoured to be named as a member of the Test team," said Brathwaite, who recently arrived in Zimbabwe for the two-Test tour against the hosts, starting next month.

"I have been putting in lots of hard work and the hard work will continue here in Zimbabwe where we are preparing for the two Tests in a few days time.

"One of the outstanding performances for the year was the series win against England at home.

"It was my first time as captain against England and we worked really hard to beat them on our home soil… that was fantastic from a team perspective, and for me [it was] the big moment of the year."

England all-rounder Ben Stokes was named captain of the Test squad which also includes stellar Pakistan stroke-maker and skipper Babar Azam, Australia run-scoring machine Marnus Labuschagne, and South Africa seamer Kagiso Rabada.

Hope, meanwhile, kept up his consistency in the game's shorter format in 2022, averaging 35 with three hundreds from 21 ODIs. He was among only seven players to pass 700 runs for the calendar year.

The 26-year-old Joseph, meanwhile, was also among the leading wicket-takers in ODIs for 2022, snaring 27 at an average of 25 from 17 matches for West Indies.

He was the leading fast bowler in the world last year among the countries in the top tier of world cricket.

The ODI team is being led by Babar and includes the likes of India's Shreyas Iyer and New Zealander Trent Boult.

Neither the men's Twenty20 (T20) International Team of the Year nor the women's ODI and T20 squads comprised any West Indies players.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at https://bit.ly/epaper-login


  1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper; email addresses will not be published.
  2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.
  3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.
  4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.
  5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.
  6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.
  7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy